Serving Southeastern Montana Counties of Custer, Powder River, Rosebud & Treasure

On July 29, 2020, the Economic Development Administration (EDA) announced that it had awarded Powder River County a $7 million grant from the EDA’s Disaster Recovery Program to replace or upgrade four bridges and resurface approximately 18 miles of road damaged by flooding in 2019. The EDA allocation is the second major grant Powder River County has received for the project. Last February, the Montana Department of Commerce awarded Powder River County with a $750,000 grant from the Delivering Local Assistance (DLA) Program. The two grants represent 89-percent of the $8,750,000 project and are the result of a collaboration between Powder River County, Southeastern Montana Development Corporation (SEMDC), the regional economic development group, and Great West Engineering.

The award was given for the significant impact that these efforts have had on Southeastern Montana.