Building Montana – One Job At A Time
Call Us: 1-406-748-2990

Organization and Staff


The SEMDC Staff

Jim Atchison – Executive Director

Julie E. Korkow – Grant Administrator/Planner

Tracy Baker – Loan Officer/Executive Director MCAEDC

Pam Hill – Secretary/Receptionist

Our Organization

We are a group of concerned counties and communities in Southeastern Montana who came together to provide local financial support for economic development. The group formed the Southeastern Montana Development Corporation (SEMDC)and has been providing services since July 1997. This joint participation of counties and communities allows for synergy and prevents duplication of efforts, while providing a vehicle agency located locally to receive funding and administer services for economic development.

Current supporting members of the Southeastern Montana Development Corporation, contributing $1 per capita annually are Custer, Powder River, Rosebud, and Treasure Counties; the cities of Colstrip, Forsyth, and Miles City; and the towns of Broadus and Hysham.

Non-Profit Status

Southeastern Montana Development Corporation (SEMDC) has had a non-profit tax-exempt 501 (c) 3 status from the IRS since it merged with the Treasure Foundation in 1998. Copies of the SEMDC Articles of Incorporation, By-Laws and Revolving Loan Fund Policy/Procedures, can be supplied upon request.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Southeastern Montana Development Corporation (SEMDC) includes a representative from each government (four Counties and five Cities/Towns), appointed by that government entity. They meet at least quarterly or as needed and have the final vote or authority directing the staff and projects. Two members represent two unincorporated communities (Ashland and the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation), appointed by the county. One member represents Treasure Development, one member represents the Miles City Area Economic Development Council (MCAEDC), one member representing Chief Dull Knife College, and the Board of Directors appoints two at-large members for a total of sixteen Directors.

The Board of Directors is comprised of nine (9) elected officials (63%), plus one elected official representing and appointed by the Northern Cheyenne Indian Tribe and five private citizens (37%). Currently, twelve (12) men (80%) and three (3) women (20%) are serving on the Board. Minority representation is currently two (2) Directors (14%) which is consistent with District percentages. Each Director is assigned one or two areas of interest to represent the district.

Board of Directors: 2013 Roster

Representing the City of Colstrip Elected
John Williams, City Council
 Representing Miles City Area Econ. Dev. Council
Jack Regan
Vice President
Member At-Large
Cathy Frank
Secretary / Treasurer
Representing Powder River County, Elected
Representing the Town of Broadus, Elected
Raymond Ragsdale, Town Council 
Representing the City of Forsyth, Elected
Dennis Kopitzke, Mayor
Representing Rosebud County, Elected
Doug Martens, County Commissioner
Representing the Town of Hysham, Elected
Sharon DeCock, City Council
Representing the Community of Ashland
Alan See
Member At-Large
Representing Treasure County, Elected
Marlo Moehr, County Commissioner
Representing Custer County, Elected
Keith Holmlund, County Commissioner
Representing the City of Miles City, Elected
Rick Huber, City Council
Representing Treasure Dev Foundation
Ruth Baker
Representing Northern Cheyenne Tribe
Steve Small
(Appointed by the Tribal President)
Representing Miles Community College
Stacy Klippenstein

Latest Posts

Who's Online

4 visitors online now
2 guests, 2 bots, 0 members
Powered by Visitor Maps

Energy Open Information